Professional Food Photography

In 2014, while I was completing my dissertation research and writing, I began working at a local restaurant as an “escape” from the drudgery of writing. One day, while working, I met a talented photographer named Brandon Vick and as they say, “the rest is history”.

Below you’ll find photos courtesy of Brandon. For our first session I prepared crispy salmon, mashed potatoes, and a “healthy” version of southern style green beans; to make the green beans “healthy” I omitted the bacon and did not smother. The crispy salmon is seasoned as I would fried chicken (onion and garlic powder, cayenne pepper, black pepper, and kosher salt), but with a little light brown sugar added. I dredge the skin side of the salmon in light cake or all purpose flour and fry in grape seed oil (as a result of it’s high burn temperature) for 3-4 minutes. Immediately, I removed the salmon and broil in oven (skin side down) for an additional 3-4 minutes.

I was excited to shoot this meal because it gave me an opportunity to also use part of my new Kate Spade tablescape! I look forward to working with Brandon on future projects to bring you amazing photographs to accompany my step-by-step recipes and completed meals. Again, please take the time to check out his other projects using the link above.

Southern style french cut green beans, garlic mashed potatoes, crispy brown sugar salmon over wilted bed of arugula, spinach and radicchio.

Southern style french cut green beans, garlic mashed potatoes, crispy brown sugar salmon over wilted bed of arugula, spinach and radicchio.


2014-12-08_southern_dinner_with_a_twist_4130 2014-12-08_southern_dinner_with_a_twist_4137 2014-12-08_southern_dinner_with_a_twist_4140 2014-12-08_southern_dinner_with_a_twist_4151 2014-12-08_southern_dinner_with_a_twist_4171

http://photos.brandonvick.com/gallery/n-m8kpQ/i-FpvbpLR

Please share your story or thoughts with me!

