Thanksgiving Menu

Family Thanksgiving Photo

As many of you know, I am not a full time food and entertaining blogger. I am actually a PhD candidate at the University of New Orleans, preparing to graduate this upcoming Spring. As a result, I have several dissertation writing deadlines to meet over the next two weeks (you can read about my dissertation at http://www.ltamarminter.wordpress.com) which will not allow me to post all of my Thanksgiving menu items prior to Thanksgiving. I will attempt to post many recipes, but sadly many of the posts will not contain detailed photos for I will not cook them until the day before or Thanksgiving day. I have prepared all of these items many many times before, so the recipes are tried and true. And the good news is that I never prepare the same menu for Christmas as Thanksgiving (actually, in my immediate family we have different menus for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day), so that means that you’ll receive additional menu ideas on this blog throughout the remainder of the holiday season.

Every Thanksgiving I prepare a similar menu to accommodate special dietary concerns. Some menu items are reflective of ethnic and regional culture, while others are prepared simply because they are “traditional” American Thanksgiving menu items. All items are homemade/from scratch, by me, with the exception of the items indicated with an asterisk (*).  Those items are prepared by an Aunt, God mother, etc. I’m a pretty good home cook, but these ladies wear the crown when it comes to those items. Maybe they’ll share their written recipes with me and I’ll post here at a later date.

Three Generations Thanksgiving Preparation

Every Thanksgiving, I invite family members over, as well as single/unmarried friends who may not have family in town, students who do not go home for the holiday and always invite guests to bring a friend or two. There is always more than enough food. And what better time to share God’s love than Thanksgiving?!

Thanksgiving Grandmother and Granddaughter

I’d love for you to share your Thanksgiving menu with me. Or I hope that my menu inspires you to try something new this Thanksgiving.

With a Servant’s Heart and Hands,

L. Tamar

THANKSGIVING MENU 2013

1 25lb roasted fresh turkey (from an upstate NY turkey farm)

1 20lb curried fresh turkey (16 pieces)

4 lbs bone-in prime rib roast

Stuffed Bell Peppers

Oyster Dressing

Sausage Sage Dressing

Seafood File Gumbo OR Clam Chowder

Butternut Squash Soup 

Potato Salad

Mashed Yellow Potatoes

Red Beans 

Rice and gandules (pigeon peas)

Candied Sweet Potatoes with Pears

Stuffed Mirlitons

Roasted ground provision

Steamed Haricot verts (French Green Beans)

Baked macaroni pie

Corn Pudding

Steamed cabbage 

Kale Salad

Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Salad

Cranberry Orange Pomegranate Sauce

Onion and pepper gelatin

Carrot Pineapple gelatin

Praline Pound Cake

Chocolate Cake

Chocolate Truffles

Croissant Bread Pudding with Rum Sauce 

Sweet Potato Pie *

Bluebell Homemade Vanilla Ice cream

Homemade Rolls *

Sangria

Cranberry Punch

Mango Lemonade

Please share your story or thoughts with me!

