Homemade Microwave Popcorn

Popcorn

Have you ever looked at the ingredients on a package of microwave popcorn? There are many ingredients that I cannot pronounce, which left me wondering, how can this be a healthy snack option? You’ll be surprised how easy microwave popcorn is to make. Again, this a “clean” recipe for a delicious snack.

Ingredients

brown paper lunch bag (although I usually buy the pink paper bags from Target)

whole kernel popcorn

Directions

Add 1/2 cup of popcorn kernels to brown paper bag.

Fold the bag over twice.

Place the popcorn filled bag into microwave, upright.

Microwave on high for 3 minutes, listening for the popping sound to diminish (once not rapidly popping remove the bag to avoid burning).

Add pinch of salt and a dab of butter, if this fits your tastes.

I like this other topping ideas:

– butter, salt, and nutritional yeast (for a vegan friendly cheese flavor)

– cinnamon, sugar, and honey (my version of kettle corn)

– chili powder, cayenne pepper, and salt (for a spicy treat)

One thought on “Homemade Microwave Popcorn

  1. Wow! I didn’t realize it was so easy to make microwave popcorn from scratch. I usually buy the packs, and I’ve looked at the ingredients list and been slightly worried that I barely recognize anything on it! I’ll definitely be giving this a go.

Please share your story or thoughts with me!

